Eclipse hangs with a blank screen on start up

I ran into a problem where the Eclipse just hangs and shows a blank screen on start up. On analysis I found that its due to the perspective that its trying to open with. I could not find the problem thats causing this but I wanted to open the project and do some work on the java code base.

Since I cannot change the perspective from the eclipse workbench I looked around and found the file that can be edited to make eclipse open in the perspective you want.

It is workbench.xml file that will be under %workspace%\.metadata\.plugins\org.eclipse.ui.workbench folder. Search for perspectives element and modify it to open up in the perspective you want. For e.g. to open in java perspective you can use the following

<perspectives activePart=”org.eclipse.jdt.ui.PackageExplorer” activePerspective=”org.eclipse.jdt.ui.JavaPerspective”>

This entry was posted in Technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Eclipse hangs with a blank screen on start up

  1. zazuge says:

    thanks i solved the problem the moment i’ve readen the title
    it seems executing both eclipse and my exported RCP project from command line caused all this
    because i’ve found thta eclipse was using my RCP app perspectives !!!!!
    so you just have to rechange the pespective using the “window > open perspective …. “

  2. Pingback: Eclipse’s Attempt at Sabotage and How It Was Thwarted « GSoC ‘09: Mesquite

  3. eds says:

    Thank you, this solved my problem. Amazing that this
    error still happens a year later!

  4. Rachit says:

    Thanks, it worked for me !

  5. Akshay says:

    Thank you. It worked 🙂

  6. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading
    properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking
    issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same results.

Leave a Reply

